Zeichenfläche 27.png

WHAT IS PUBLIC VALUE AND CAN YOU BE PART OF IT?

 

“Free enterprise cannot be justified by saying that it is good for business. It legitimizes itself through its social benefit. "

 

- Peter Drucker, founder of modern management

 

More and more companies are thinking about the benefits they have for society and how they can live up to their responsibility, for example for the environment and the climate, or for their employees. Do they help to make the world a little better? Start-ups in particular are often based on this idea.

We believe that there is a lot of potential in start-ups in particular to advance our society and solve social challenges. You take social responsibility seriously and put it at the core of your business purpose. We call this: making a contribution to the common good or "public value" . It's not just about environmental awareness, employee satisfaction or great charity projects. It's about the core of the company. Is the business model designed in such a way that it is viable in the long term and creates values for society? Do the products and services contribute to overcoming social challenges?

The public value of your start-up is about the overall package. What idea is your start-up based on?

and what effects does this have on society?  

In theory, there are five key questions.

PUBLIC VALUE THEORY 

An organization creates public value when it leaves a formative impression with its products, services or behavior on various dimensions in its social environment. These dimensions are derived from central individual or social needs and include, for example, the need for clarity, orientation and functionality , for recognition and belonging, or the pursuit of positive self-worth and a higher quality of life . If your start-up addresses these central needs positively in its social environment, it creates public value and a contribution to the common good.

Icons_pvDimensionen-14.png

factual - content

Task fulfillment

Is your start-up solving a relevant problem? This includes the quality, the degree of innovation or the functionality of your offers. To what extent does the offer make a contribution to overcoming societal challenges?

Zeichenfläche 30.png

PUBLIC VALUE SCORECARD 

How much your start-up contributes to the common good is assessed using the Public Value Scorecard (PVSC):

FULFILLMENT OF TASKS
Does your start-up offer new solutions to relevant problems?

ECONOMICS

Does your start-up act economically from a social point of view?

PVSC blanko.png

MORAL

Does your start-up promote moral and ethical values?

LIFE QUALITY

Does your start-up enable positive experiences in a special way?

COHESION 

Does your start-up strengthen cooperation and relationships in and between groups?

WAS IST PUBLIC VALUE UND KÖNNEN WIR DAS AUCH?

 

»Freies Unternehmertum lässt sich nicht dadurch rechtfertigen, dass es gut ist für das Geschäft. Es legitimiert sich durch seinen gesellschaftlichen Nutzen.«

 

— Peter Drucker, Begründer des modernen Managements

 

Immer mehr machen sich Unternehmen Gedanken, welchen Nutzen sie für die Gesellschaft haben und wie sie ihrer Verantwortung z.B. für Umwelt und Klima oder ihre Mitarbeiter gerecht werden können. Tragen sie dazu bei, die Welt ein Stückchen besser zu machen? Gerade Start-ups gründen oft auf dieser Idee.

Wir glauben, dass gerade in Start-ups vie Potenzial liegt, unsere Gesellschaft voran zu bringen und gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen zu lösen. Sie nehmen eine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahr und setzen sie in den Kern ihres unternehmerischen Purpose. Wir nennen das: einen Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl leisten oder "Public Value". Dabei geht es nicht nur um Umweltbewusstsein, Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit oder tolle Charity-Projekte. Es geht um den Kern des Unternehmens. Ist das Geschäftsmodell so ausgerichtet, dass es langfristig lebensfähig ist und Werte für die Gesellschaft stiftet? Tragen die Produkte und Dienstleitungen dazu bei, gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen zu bewältigen?

Beim Public Value deines Start-ups geht es um das Gesamtpaket. Auf welcher Idee gründet dein Start-up

und welche Effekte hat das für die Gesellschaft? 

In der Theorie geht es dabei um fünf zentrale Fragen.

PUBLIC VALUE THEORIE 

Eine Organisation dann Public Value, wenn sie mit ihren Produkten, Dienstleistungen oder ihrem Verhalten auf verschiedenen Dimensionen in ihrem gesellschaftlichen Umfeld einen prägenden Eindruck hinterlässt. Diese Dimensionen sind von zentralen individuellen oder gesellschaftlichen Bedürfnissen abgleitet und umfassen etwa das Bedürfnis nach Klarheit, Orientierung und Funktionalität, nach Anerkennung und Zugehörigkeit oder das Streben nach einem positiven Selbstwert und einer höheren Lebensqualität. Spricht dein Start-up diese zentralen Bedürfnisse in seinem gesellschaftlichen Umfeld positiv an, entsteht Public Value und ein Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl.

sachlich - inhaltlich

Aufgabenerfüllung

Löst dein Start-up ein relevantes Problem? Dazu zählt die Qualität, der Innovationsgrad oder die Funktionalität deiner Angebote. Inwiefern leistet das Angebot einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen?

PUBLIC VALUE SCORECARD 

Wie stark dein Start-up zum Gemeinwohl beiträgt, wird mit der Public Value Scorecard (PVSC) bewertet:

AUFGABENERFÜLLUNG
Bietet dein Start-up neue Lösungen für relevante Probleme?

WIRTSCHAFTLICHKEIT

Agiert dein Start-up aus gesellschaftlicher Sicht wirtschaftlich sinnvoll?

MORAL

Fördert dein Start-up moralisch-ethische Werte?

LEBENSQUALITÄT

Ermöglicht dein Start-up in besonderer Weise positive Erfahrungen?

ZUSAMMENHALT 

Stärkt dein Start-up das Miteinander und die Beziehungen in und zwischen Gruppen?

© 2021 Forum Gemeinwohl e.V. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.